5 Things I DID while my PC did a Disk Check


At the Dawn of this year, I decided to take on a new approach and NOT MAKE any resolution but instead resolved (Yes, you heard that Right) to start DOING stuff and probably make resolutions along the way. Now am not saying Resolutions are bad, but for me that’s the direction this year! lots of people (including myself) make resolutions as a goal setting strategy for the year, and that’s also a good thing.

So, one of the “resolutions” I did not make this year is to Start improving my writing more seriously and I picked on a rather random topic to write about after an experience this morning to be my First Post of the Year.  Let me know what you think in the comments section.

Like most Windows (Yeah, we all have this thing about Windows) users, you will occasionally encounter strange behaviours such as the “Screens of Death”! (They have surfaced in many colors lately), Hanging and all these crazy Pop-ups which look like IMs from… well, some Distant Galaxy, he he (No, No not StarWars now) but that’s a story for another day.

Okay lets hear it. I rebooted my Windows 7 machine after removing some nasty software (name withheld to protect brand) and it took about 10 minutes!As if that was just the tip of the iceberg, 18 seconds Later (Now that’s Slow for a Duo-Core machine, but you knew that!) and then this BLACK screen with white text saying : “CHKDSK – Drive C needs to be checked for errors….” and the rest is for your imagination.

While that was happening I started to apply the “DOING Stuff” concept I mentioned earlier and here is a summary of 5 things I did while CHKDSK did their thing:

  1. De-Cluttered my Desk

    Since am a developer and start my day quite early (5 am), I was buried in this Volume from Salesforce Developer Library but for a moment, I realized that my desk was heading South (literally) with a pile of scratch cards, art board, sticky Notes and some of those tools you see on desks in the Movies. So I decided to re-position it northwards (whatever that means , really) and am glad I did.
    LESSON: a Tidy desk will keep you better organized and more productive

  2. Reviewed My Goals for the Day

    Whenever  I rise up, I clean-up,  give God a call and then try er…a workout (which is still wanting). After that, I spend 10 minutes and write down a list of things I would like to accomplish for the day and how. Since this disk check was unplanned, I decided to use this time to review goals set so far and progress indicator showed a 10% completions rate. (not bad for 9 am)
    LESSON: Goals need review – Mr. Drake Patrick reminded me yesterday at UTAMU #CareerTalk

    STATUS UPDATE:
    Stage 2 / 3 Checking File Indexes…

  3. Updated My Phone Book

    Often times, I receive phone calls from friends or family, clients, service providers, unknown Callers, Wrong-Number Callers and all those in between. I usually take time to review each call, add it to the contacts list if I recall them, update old contacts or even just delete them to ensure that when I sync my contact list with my Google Address book, no Conflicts arise.

  4. Adjusted My Chair

    Now somebody is Laughing, but this is not funny! The dangers of a poorly adjusted chair or further still a Bad Sitting Posture can be fatal. See some of the dangers here and read more about how to deal with it here. So I got my chair adjusted, and took a 30 sec stroll around the house to relax my Muscles a bit.

  5. Wrote an article

    Did I tell you that this article took me less than 30 minutes to write? Am sure that too long for some seasoned writers, but hey am only getting started and its been a while since I wrote something. You can write a 500 word or more article is less than 30 minutes, all you need is an idea / topic, a pen and a piece of paper to scribble on and you are good to go.

    STATUS UPDATE:

    Stage 3 / 3 – Disk Check has finished checking your File System, Please wait while your computer Restarts….

Conclusion
There are many ways we can be more productive and manage our time better other than just sit there and watch while nothing happens. You could walk your dog (if you have one) or even trim your nails (yes guys, why the weird Look?) , maybe even take the trash out in this time frame.

Like I said, this was my first post this year in my first effort to improve my writing after a very long “vacation”. Feel Free to leave a Comment of two….See you in my next story.

Leave a Reply

